City on a Hill, Summer Camp, and Fundraising

July has arrived and with it a full calendar of events. 

First up is the spiritual formation retreat called City on a HillStoryline and Christ Journey Church in Burleson are partnering to host this event.  This retreat focuses on equipping followers of Jesus to live on mission.  We will start on Friday focusing on the big picture story of God and move to Saturday with several specific components to get people prepared to represent the Kingdom of God in their everyday life.  I will be teaching/facilitating two components on Saturday.  One deals with working for justice and the other with telling stories of good news about Jesus.  This is the second City on a Hill retreat that has taken place.  The first was a joint effort between the Sunrise Church of Christ and Christ Journey during the time Charles Kiser (of Storyline) was working with us in Grand Prairie for his apprenticeship.  The second City on a Hill will come with somewhat of a facelift from the first.  We all have learned a lot since then!

After that, I head out to be on staff at Sooner Youth Camp at Lake Murray State Park in Oklahoma.  Sooner is a Christian camp for kids who have finished the sixth grade through nineteen year olds.  It is a great camp, full of tradition, and does a great job of creating Christian community and friendships.  I’m honored to be part of it.  It also has the best camp food I have ever had!  There are still a few spots available for campers if you know of any teens you can talk into going to camp.  Sooner is a very affordable camp too.  But we don’t let money keep anyone from going.

The other big thing on my radar is to get started fundraising for my residency with Storyline.  Before this month is over I expect to have a plan and have begun contacting individuals and churches for support.  We still have several more months support but I don’t expect fundraising to fall into my lap in a months time.  This will be a new experience for me.  I feel like the support we received to start Sunrise just fell into our lap.  I expect this to be a fairly intimidating learning experience for me, but I am also in a strange way looking forward to it.  Please pray for me as I dive into this new area of my life.

About micahlewis

I am a follower of Jesus, servant of the church, husband to a wonderful wife, and father to 2 fantastic children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to City on a Hill, Summer Camp, and Fundraising

  1. Tim Lewis says:

    What are the dates for City on a Hill?

  2. John O. says:

    I look forward to hearing about the retreat.

    Sooner! It’s warm there.

Leave a Reply

