Declaring His Praises

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” – 1 Peter 2:9

I was blessed on Sunday to listen to a word from God through my father.  He preached and I led worship at the South MacArthur Church of Christ in Irving.  A couple things from his sermon jumped out to me. 

First, is the importance of having a thankful spirit.  Dad told a story about a little church he had visited in a little village in a rainforest in Thailand.  The leader of that church made it a point to share how thankful he was to God.  Earlier that day he had left the village because they needed mushrooms to cook the meal that evening.  He had gone off into the rainforest and found mushrooms to bring back for the meal.  He shared how thankful he was that God allowed them to live in the rainforest because the rainforest is full of food and the people never have to go hungry.  Do I recognize the good things God has blessed me with where I live?  Surely there are many reasons to live with a thankful spirit.

Second, God is at work in our lives and in our world in tangible ways.  He is working through people to encourage, bless, and even save people.  I thought the strongest part of Dad’s sermon was his conclusion in which he just started to share stories of the way he had seen God at work during the week.   The most memorable one was of a coworker of his who drove up on couple running from two pitbulls.  She drove between the couple and dogs and began to honk the horn.  The dogs were startled enough for the couple to jump into the vehicle and find safety.  Dad said something like, “Don’t you think that in that moment that couple thought Teri was from God?” (which brought laughter from the congregation)  Then he followed, “Well she was!”  It was great to be told and reminded that situations like that are the saving work of God breaking into our world through the church.

As I listened through that sermon and to those stories, I found myself wanting to praise God!  I wanted to sing and sing loud so the world would know the praises of my God!

On the heels of that, I am trying to be mindful of the goodness of God in my own life and I am being helped in my personal reading of scripture.  I’ve been reading the first 25 chapters of Genesis with my formation group for the past few weeks and am constantly being reminded of the goodness of God.  I have been reminded through Hagar that “You are the God who sees me.”  I’ve been asked by God with Abraham, “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”  And I’ve been shown through Isaac that “The Lord will provide.”  In a season of fundraising, I have appreciated those words from God and I am remembering the people who have made these words become reality in my life during the past few weeks.

If you’ve witnessed the saving power of God at work this week, post a comment and share it with us!

About micahlewis

I am a follower of Jesus, servant of the church, husband to a wonderful wife, and father to 2 fantastic children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Declaring His Praises

  1. ScottS says:

    indeed God’s hand is at work.
    i posted a story here of how God has been at work this week with my family.

    http://www.ansible-one.com/?p=137

    if you stop for a minute, God can be seen working in so many ways. how exciting to know that He is alive and with us!

Leave a Reply

