Listen to Him!

This morning I spent some time dwelling in scripture and prayer with my partners in ministry at Storyline (Charles, Ryan, and Sean).  Our text was from Mark 9, the story of Jesus’ transfiguration.  The crux of the story is when God’s voice comes from what Peter calls the Majestic Glory and says, “This is my son, whom I love.  Listen to Him!”  It highlighted the importance of listening to Jesus and the Spirit.  To often we try to live our lives pleasing God without ever listening to him.  We end up coming up with silly or even confusing ideas like putting up shelters that do nothing to furthur God’s mission.

I have been trying to allow God to direct me on a daily basis more than I ever have.  I have been richly rewarded for it.  I have been spending focused time in prayer asking God to give me a word or direction for the day and I have sat listening to the Holy Spirit that lives in me.  I have been encouraged to listen to the spontaneous thoughts that emerge from those times of listening and I am trying to act on them.  This has been a good learning process for me.  There have been times where I have acted on thoughts that have proven to be timely.  I have had other thoughts that have helped me be aware/prepared for situations I was about to walk into.  There have also been thoughts that in retrospect make me think I wasn’t listening intently enough – like I got part of the message but not all of it.  I am learning, but this is proving to be a rich discipline of listening that God is using for his glory.

One component of this listening has been sharing the experience with Amy.  We have been trying to check in with each other daily to share the state of our hearts and how we have been hearing from God.  One of the questions we are asking God is to direct our next steps in ministry as we anticipate concluding our time with the Storyline community in August.  I can think of a lot of reasons for God to hurry up and clue us in to that plan.  And I believe that last week, we heard from God concerning that question.  Now don’t get too excited.  Amy and I both sensed that God was trying to reassure us, that He knows our situation and is well aware of the timing and financial concerns we are feeling.  He has everything under control and we don’t need to worry or be anxious.  What was encouraging was that we felt like we heard from God.  We did not feel like God was being silent, He was reassuring us to trust him.  So what choice do we have?  🙂

Thanks to all of you who continue to pray for us in this.  We really appreciate it.  God is good!

About micahlewis

I am a follower of Jesus, servant of the church, husband to a wonderful wife, and father to 2 fantastic children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Listen to Him!

  1. Matt says:

    I love that you are trying to listen in community. So many times I hear of people saying they have heard a “word from God” and it really seems to just further their individual pursuits or desires.

    But when I hear people saying thing like you have above, it gives me great encouragement.

    We are still continuing to pray for God’s activity.

  2. Hobby says:

    Community and Scripture are important measurements. Humility is crucial. But, so is the hard work of listening daily in personal quiet time. And, with that, courage to live in the words of God doing what he says. I commend you Micah, I am impressed with your attentiveness to the Lord’s voice and with your hunger and with your commitment.

  3. Ben Wall says:

    Way to seek out our Father every day Micah! I was meditating on that passage this week too as I read through Mark. Way to stay alert as Christ builds His church! bw

Leave a Reply

