July CP Update

I’m still reading a lot of 1 Samuel right now.  I think it is one of my favorite books in scripture.  I feel like I have a pretty good grasp on most of the main themes of the book.  The strongest theme I see running through the book is, like I mentioned in my last post, that this is God’s story.  By that I mean that life is God’s story, whether it is the stories in Samuel or the stories in Wichita, Kansas.  He is the one driving along the plot.

It has now been a couple of months since we have been commissioned to plant a church here in Wichita.  If I’m being really honest, I’d like to be further along than we are.  There are a number of things contributing to this anxiousness – a burden for lost people, personal desire to succeed, a supporting congregation’s expectations, financial and fundraising concerns, and perhaps others I don’t even realize.  However, there are also reasons that make me think we are right on track for the work God has called us to here.  When I consider my friendships with non-church people, I get a sense that moving faster and trying to push things along would be disrespectful and disruptive to those relationships.  Even more important than that, as I take time to listen to God, I sense that he is telling me to be patient, to not be anxious, and to trust that He is at work planting his church here in Wichita.

Right now, high on our list of church planting priorities is getting the Mott family here to Wichita to join us.  We were really excited to hear that they recently agreed to an offer for the sale of their house in Tennessee.  We pray that the closing moves along as scheduled (August 4) and they will be available to join us soon.  Our other hurdle in getting them here is fundraising.  We have made some good progress in the last month, but we are still around $14,000 short of our goal for bringing them to Wichita.  We are hopeful and continue working to reach this goal.

We continue to develop relationships with both our Christian and non-Christian friends.  Community is slowly forming as we share meals, play games, and serve together.  We pray that Christ is revealed and working his way into all of our lives.  Amy and I are seeking God about the possibility of inviting some of these friends to join us in living on mission.  We wait for God’s guidance as we move forward.  Keep praying!

About micahlewis

I am a follower of Jesus, servant of the church, husband to a wonderful wife, and father to 2 fantastic children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July CP Update

  1. You are right to be patient: diligent, urgent, interactive, speaking the Good News of the Kingdom of God in kind, appropriate, transformative ways, but yet patient.

    Blessings,

    Gailyn

Leave a Reply

