Trying to Listen to God

I talk a lot about listening to God.  I have had some really good experiences where I have heard from God and seen the timeliness of those words.  I heard the voice of God today and thought I would share my experience.

My shift at work didn’t start as early today as it often does, so that made it a little easier to go in early and start my day off with some prayer.  My prayer mostly consisted of journaling my reflections on the day before and my hopes for today.  I wanted to spend some time in silence and try to just listen to God for direction for the day.  The atmosphere in my store was not lending itself for a good place to practice silence and listening so I ended up just doing some thinking.  I asked God to help me think about what I ought to do today.  I knew that it would be an unusual day because I had to work early and then go back that evening to do an inventory count.  So my family time would be limited.  The only thought that really came to me was that I need to make sure and make the most of my time with my kids today.  I also asked God to help me pay attention to what was actually going on in my store today.

So I start work and get right into the routine of work.  And before you know it, I’ve worked half of my shift and feel like I haven’t been aware of what was going on with my co-workers or customers.  But finally, I hear a guy order a quad espresso over the drive thru, so I started making it.  As I am finishing up the drink, I hear him say through the window, “hey.”  I turn around and realize that its my next door neighbor, Bill.  We say “hi” to each other and he comments how nice the weather is.  It was a little cold for my Texas blood, but the sun was shining.  He then asked me if I’ve been able to get outside and enjoy it.  I say, “no.”  He then goes on to say, “I haven’t seen you outside playing with your son in a while, you better take advantage of this while you can.  You know this isn’t Texas.”

And then it hit me – Jesus was speaking to me through my next door neighbor, Bill.  I need to play outside today with my son.  So that’s what I did.  We played baseball.  It was fun…and challenging…and a little cold.  But who am I to tell God he has a bad idea?  When God tells you to do something, you ought to obey.  He is God, right?  But then again, who wouldn’t want to obey a God who tells you to go outside and play baseball with your son.  I’m glad I decided to listen.  I hope you will too.

About micahlewis

I am a follower of Jesus, servant of the church, husband to a wonderful wife, and father to 2 fantastic children.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying to Listen to God

  1. Jim says:

    I appreciate your thoughts as I sit down at my desk to start my day, God is here with us through us if only I could remember that and not shut him out to be selfish about myself. God bless you and yours Micah!

  2. Jay Plank says:

    Aren’t you glad you listened? 🙂

Leave a Reply

